The Association of Independent Schools of South Australia (AISSA) leads, supports, represents and advocates for the independent sector in South Australia to enhance the success, sustainability and strength of its member schools. Established in 1975 with 14 members it now represents 100% of the independent (non-Catholic, non-Government) schools in SA. The AISSA is the peak body for the Independent school sector in South Australia and is a member of Independent Schools Australia which represents independent schools nation-wide. The AISSA provides a forum for debate on significant policy issues and plays a leadership role in providing advice and information, representing individual schools and the sector.

Across all of its activities, the AISSA is guided by:

  • a commitment to the independence of member schools to develop in ways that embody their individual philosophies
  • a belief that the Independent sector offers genuine diversity that ensures parents have real choice in selecting their children’s schooling
  • a commitment to integrity, excellence and expertise.

For more information about the AISSA’s purpose and priorities please see the AISSA Strategic Intentions.

For more information about the characteristics of South Australia’s Independent Schools please see the AISSA Snapshot 2023.


The AISSA Board

The AISSA Board is a representative Board focused on strategic/policy issues and strategies of significance to member schools and also attends to its role as a governing body.  The AISSA Board members are as follows:

Governors of Member Schools
Ms Peta St Clair – St Andrew’s School (AISSA Board Deputy Chair)
Mr Ben Stratton – Hills Christian Community School
Mr Cain McDonald – Tatachilla Lutheran College
One position vacant

Principals of Member Schools
Mr Paul Weinert – Concordia College
Ms Helen Finlay – St Peter’s Woodlands Grammar School
Mr Marcel Rijken – Temple Christian College
Mr Trent Driver – Scotch College

One person employed by a Member with responsibilities which include the overall financial management of the Member
Ms Nancy Johnson – Walford Anglican School for Girls

Group of “up to four (4) other persons”
Mr Craig Fielke – Executive Director, Lutheran Education SA, NT & WA
Ms Shannon Warren – Principal, Woodcroft College (AISSA Board Chair)
Mr Michael Potter – Head of Schools, Tyndale Christian School
Uncle John Lochowiak

Mrs Anne Dunstan – Chief Executive 
Ms Lynn Carter – Minute Secretary 


Scheduled Board Election E2023/205 (Stage 2 – Office Bearers)

Election Notice

Nomination Form


AISSA’s Constitution

AISSA Constitution effective 30 August 2023


Customer Service Commitment and Grievance Policy

AISSA Customer Service Commitment
AISSA Grievance Policy

To contact the AISSA Chief Executive, Anne Dunstan, please call (08) 8179 1400. To contact the AISSA Board Chair, Shannon Warren, please call (08) 8322 2333.


Privacy Policy

AISSA Privacy Policy
AISSA Privacy Standard Collection Notice


Choice and Affordability Fund

2020-21 CAF Workplan
2020 CAF Annual Report
2021 CAF Annual Report
2022-2025 CAF Workplan
2022 CAF Annual Report


Non-Government Reform Support Fund 

2019-2023 RSF Strategic Plan
2021 RSF Workplan
2021 RSF Annual Report
2022 RSF Workplan
2022 RSF Annual Report
2023 RSF Workplan